Click on any image to view a larger image in the photo gallery…

Photo of St.Theresa the Little Flower church

St.Theresa the Little Flower was originally called St. Simeon. This small chapel has not changed much over its 154 year existence. It is a log church that had wooden siding placed on it. It served as an important base for the missionary activities of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate among the native peoples. The native population began to shrink over time as members moved towards Mattawa, and eventually the mission was attached to the parish at Sheenboro. Although not used as frequently as in the past, St. Theresa is still opened in the summer months.


Photo of St. Paul the Hermit church

The first church in the village of Sheenboro was named after Saint Bridgit. The parish had been served by Father Lynch from Chapeau, but in 1872, Fr. Patrick Meehan was appointed the first pastor. In 1918 a fire destroyed St. Bridgit Church. A new church was planned, and the basement was built. Although a superstructure was planned, it never developed, and to this day the “basement church” dedicated to St. Paul the Hermit serves the small but vibrant parish community in Sheen.










Check weather for Sheenboro…